Fishguard And Goodwick
Fishguard is the main shopping centre for the north of the county. Goodwick is Fishguard’s twin on the other side of the harbour close to the ferry terminal.
Lower Fishguard is the old port of Fishguard and is situated at the mouth of the river Gwuan. It has pretty cottages on the quayside and has been used as a location for a number of films.
There is a good choice of eating places and many small specialist shops. The Royal Oak Inn on the square has a sign above the door proclaiming the fact that the surrender of French troops who took part in the last invasion of Britain in 1797, was signed in the inn.This invasion is now celebrated in the 100 feet long Last Invasion Tapestry which can be seen in the Old Town Hall.
On the Parrog, the strip of land at the back of the harbour separating Fishguard from Goodwick is the Ocean Lab with coffee shop, crafts and tourist information. The car park at the Parrog is a good place to watch the traditional and high speed ferries operated by Stenna Line come and go.